My Experience Curating a Minimal Wardrobe

The Issue
     Not so long ago, I looked at my closet and realized I didn’t wear many of the clothes I owned. I have talked to many women who share the same sentiment. I tried my best for months to force myself to wear those pieces, but put them on to always take them right back off. Then I asked myself, “why am I keeping clothes I hate?” That, paired with moving into a smaller home, inspired me to take on an entire wardrobe overhaul.
The Process
     I started first with ditching all those clothes I hadn’t worn and seeing what I had left. I chose to keep it simple with primarily black and white, along with a few pops of color. I did the same for my drawers. I got rid of all my old, stained socks and underwear, ill-fitting, faded sports bras, and got rid of the t-shirts and pajamas I never wore. The feeling of letting go of old clothes is so liberating! I highly recommend it.
The Revival
     After this major clean out, I was in need of new pieces to round out my wardrobe. I gave myself some shopping rules so I didn’t fall into the same black hole again.
  1. Don’t go shopping without a purpose. This means I don’t go shopping for fun, only when I have a piece in mind to purchase. This expedites my shopping experience and keeps me from looking at items I may not wear. For example, if I’m looking for a black blouse, I’m not going to let myself wander into the dresses or active-wear aisles.
  2. Don’t buy pieces unless they match what you have. Simply put, if I can’t picture it with some or all of the pieces I already have, it’s staying on the rack. It also helps to go shopping while wearing a staple piece to match it with, like black pants or a simple blouse.
  3. Only have one of each item. I only need one pencil skirt or white button down, so there’s no point in shopping for another. I already have a pair of ankle boots, so I’m not looking for another. I only need one long dress, one short dress, etc. This rule help me the most, because it helps me skip over items too similar to things I already own.
The Benefits
     Aside from more room in my closet, I’ve seen a lot of benefits in my day-to-day life:
  • getting ready in the morning is a breeze! Sometimes I don’t even look in the mirror before heading out the door because I know all my pieces work together.
  • I don’t spend much time (or money) shopping. I can get in and get out because if I’m adding a new piece to my collection, I know exactly what I want. This also saves me money since I don’t often purchase pieces, and the ones I do bring home are of a high quality. It also helps that I buy many pieces secondhand at my local consignment shop.
The Question
     Other than the comments of, “I wish I could think of my clothes like that” and, “how do you do it?” I often get asked, “does it get boring wearing the same stuff?”
     I’ll admit that it sometimes gets monotonous, but I have fun accessorizing. I opt for either delicate gold accents or bold statement pieces within my color palette– silver and gold, black beads and stones, pearls, or sometimes a more colorful pendant necklace.
     With a wardrobe full of classic pieces, my statement accessories can really stand out without being too over the top. Even if I get a little bored, my style is steadfast so I’ll never get caught on the end of a trend.
The Exception
     Whenever there’s a rule, there’s got to be an exception. Mine is that I have many pieces of active-wear. I live in Florida, so every time I exercise I sweat enough to make me wash them after every wear. I have three pairs of athletic leggings and a pair of shorts, and several t-shirts I’ve cut the sleeves off of.
     When you minimize your wardrobe, you still have to keep what you need. If you do a lot of yoga, you probably need 4 pairs of yoga pants. If you’re a runner you probably need several pairs of running shorts. If you wear them, keep them. Just don’t let it get to excess.
     Another great tip is that if you have clothes you’re on the fence about, put them in a bag and put them away. Preferably in a closet other than the one you access every day. If you leaves them there for 6 months and don’t wear them, you’ll know it’s time to let go.
     Remember, your wardrobe can say a lot about you. If you wear a lot of floral or bright colors, rompers or sweaters, absolutely work those into your closet! Just try your best to pick versatile pieces that you love to wear.
     I hope my experience helps you reflect on your own wardrobe and possibly inspire you to make a change. If you do get rid of your old clothes, consider donating them to a local thrift store or homeless shelter, or consigning them if they’re good quality and in good condition. (Tip: old t shirts make great household rags!) Happy shopping!
Bonus:
Here’s a list of my main pieces (not including active-wear, swimsuits, sleepwear, and intimates):
I should mention that I work in a place where my dress code is all black.
> Pencil skirt – black
> A-line skirt – black
> Boot-cut pants – black
> Skinny-cut pants – black
> Long sleeve blouse – black
> Tank-sleeve blouse – black
> 3/4 -sleeve tunic blouse – black
> 1/2-sleeve button down – white
> long-sleeve button down – chambray
> Sleeveless blouse – red with white polka dots
> Sleeveless short dress – black
> Sleeveless midi dress – white with black stripes
> 3/4 -sleeve midi dress – black
> Long-sleeve cardigan – black
> 3/4-sleeve cardigan – black
> Blazer – black
> Blazer – grey
> Blazer – white
> Cocktail dress – royal blue
> Cocktail dress – red and black